Perseverance ~ Galatians 6:9-10

Today’s apple slice comes from Galatians 6:9-10 in the Message version.

9-10 So let’s not allow ourselves to get fatigued doing good. At the right time we will harvest a good crop if we don’t give up, or quit. Right now, therefore, every time we get the chance, let us work for the benefit of all, starting with the people closest to us in the community of faith.

When I was younger and I would read this verse, I thought to myself, “That sounds like great advice for parents (and maybe teachers).” Then I thought, “I am not a parent…or a teacher…” It also sounded great for missionaries or preachers because they are sometimes caught saying how they wonder if they are actually making a difference. So, for a while I didn’t see what this particular passage had to do with me.

Well, now I’m a college student. I’m an unpaid intern. I’m a volunteer at my church’s kid ministry. I’m different roles to different people. I’m a daughter, sister, friend, student, co-worker. All of these things can become overwhelming easily since every role is just as demanding and important as the next.

As Christians, we are not called to perfection (although, Christ’s blood has covered all of our imperfections!). We are called to continue in well-doing. We are called to find rest in Christ, rather than hoping things turn out alright. “Let us work for the benefit of all.” We are called to push forward not for the sake of us, but for the sake of others; the bottom line is that it isn’t about us! We will reap a good harvest if only we continue. God will bless our honest efforts- if not here and now, then later in heaven. Either way, we all win when we continue serving where God has called us.

When we allow ourselves to become weary, we start to slack off. We are not as effective as we could and should be. We need to be on our toes, so to speak. We should “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have” (1 Peter 3:15). Despite our weary souls, we still cling to hope that our efforts aren’t all in vain. We live with purpose. Remember that as you perform tasks that seem to be monotonous. Nothing is trivial to God.

Leave a Reply

