“Why Can’t Life be Like a Movie?”

Have you ever wondered that or heard someone else say that? I’ve heard it and said it myself hundreds of times. I had an epiphany recently though. Your life cannot- ever– be like a movie. I know. It’s tough to hear. The guy won’t chase you down in the airport. There won’t be a cheesy, overdone song playing to your every action. You won’t have the house where everything fits perfectly together. But you know what? None of that matters. I realized… I don’t want my life to be like a movie. 

Why should I, anyways? If it was, my life would be over in approximately two hours (unless it is Lord of the Rings or Les Mis those movies lasted an eternity!). If my life was a movie, everything would be scripted. All of my accomplishments would mean so much less. I realized… I like the struggles in my life. No, I am not a masochist, but I believe struggle make us stronger. So, as much as it pains me to say this, as a girl who has memorized movies like Pride and Prejudice and The Notebook and even Gladiator, I can officially say, I am glad my life isn’t like a movie. And you should be, too!

Leave a Reply

